Below is the 37 points that are completed when a commercial vehicle is inspected by the CVSA, in North America either on the road side or at a weight scale.

( From cvsa website)

North American Standard Level I Inspection Procedure

  1. Choose the Inspection Site
  2. Approach the Vehicle
  3. Greet and Prepare Driver
  4. Interview Driver
  5. Collect the Driver’s Documents
  6. Check for the Presence of Hazardous Materials/Transportation of Dangerous Goods
  7. Identify the Carrier
  8. Examine Driver’s License
  9. Check Medical Examiner’s Certificate and Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate (If Applicable)
  10. Check Record of Duty Status
  11. Review Driver’s Daily Inspection Report (If Applicable)
  12. Review Periodic Inspection Report(s)
  13. Prepare Driver for Vehicle Inspection
  14. Inspect Front of Tractor
  15. Inspect Left Front Side of Tractor
  16. Inspect Left Saddle Tank Area
  17. Inspect Trailer Front
  18. Inspect Left Rear Tractor Area
  19. Inspect Left Side of Trailer
  20. Inspect Left Rear Trailer Wheels
  21. Inspect Rear of Trailer
  22. Inspect Double, Triple and Full Trailers
  23. Inspect Right Rear Trailer Wheels
  24. Inspect Right Side of Trailer
  25. Inspect Right Rear Tractor Area
  26. Inspect Right Saddle Tank Area
  27. Inspect Right Front Side of Tractor
  28. Inspect Steering Axle(s)
  29. Inspect Axles 2 and/or 3
  30. Inspect Axles 4 and/or 5
  31. Prepare the Vehicle and Check Brake Adjustment
  32. Inspect Tractor Protection System(This procedure tests both the tractor protection system and the emergency brakes.)
  33. Inspect Required Brake System Warning Devices
  34. Test Air Loss Rate
  35. Check Steering Wheel Lash
  36. Check Fifth Wheel Movement
  37. Complete the Inspection