The Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association recently presented Safety Excellence Awards to this year’s industry safety champions at its 10th Annual Safety Awards luncheon in Dartmouth recently.

Our Safety Excellence Award recipients have demonstrated how they have positively influenced their company’s team. (CEO, supervisors, managers and workers). Each company is committed to doing whatever is necessary to ensure that everyone works safe including sub-contractors.

All Safety Excellence Award recipients are employed by companies who are “Safety Certified” by the Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association and the Workers Compensation Board of Nova Scotia. Our membership has seen a 36% decrease in time lost from work due to workplace injuries in the past 6 years.

The Prevention Incentive Pilot Project where companies participating in the “Safety Certified Accreditation Program” were eligible for a rebate has returned over $1,000,000.00 to the industry in rebates between 2013 and 2016.

Hugh Macdonald Professional Driver of the Year Safe 2017 Safety Excellence Award Winner














Professional Driver of the Year:

Hugh MacDonald

Day & Ross Transportation Group


2017 small business of the year Brian Hatch Trucking 2017 Safety Excellence Award














Small Business:

Brian Hatch Trucking

Heather & Brian Hatch

2017 Safety Excellence Award Winner Workplace Health &Safety Committee Armour Transportation Arnold Charron














Workplace Health & Safety Committee:

Armour Transportation New Glasgow

Arnold Charron

2017 Safety Excellence Safety Champion Award winner John Maxnor S&M Trucking


















Safety Champion:

S & M Trucking

John Maxner

2017 Safety Excellence Award Winner for Medium Business All Outdoors Landscaping Ltd.

















Medium Business:

All Outdoors Landscaping

(L-R) Debbie Bond, Jesse Demont, Amanda & Chris Gwynne Timothy














Workplace Health & Safety Committee:

Armour Transportation Kentville

(L-R) John Eakin, Sandy Stark, Dan Crossley

2017 Safety Excellence Award for Progress Achievement Award King Freight Lines


















Progress Achievement:

King Freight Lines

(L-R) Jack Thompson, Sherri McDowell, Doug Hiltz, Darryl Wood

Congratulations to our Safety Excellence Award recipients !